Sage AR Automation Alternatives: Sage AR Automation Pricing and Competitors for Sage 100, Sage 300, Sage X3 and Intacct
Sage AR Automation, formerly Lockstep Collect, publishes no price and names no SMS or phone channel. Here is which alternatives actually connect to Sage 100, Sage 300, Sage X3 and Sage Intacct, which ones chase beyond email, and which put a price on the page.
By the AccountsReceivable.ai team
September 2026 · 9 min read
See it work
Put a sample receivables book on autopilot
Your books
Collected / wk
Outstanding
AR aging
Current · 30 · 60 · 60+ · paid
Agent worklog
LivePut this AR on autopilot to watch the agent chase, collect and reconcile.
Dunning sequence
Live, interactive · no card, no connection needed
Flat monthly fee · we never take a cut of what we collect · works inside your accounting system
Sage AR Automation is Sage's own collections add-on, the product that used to be Lockstep Collect, and it publishes no price. The alternatives worth a demo depend on which Sage you run: Quadient AR by YayPay, Kolleno and Paystand name Sage 300 and Sage X3; Chaser, Invoiced, Tesorio and Versapay name Sage Intacct; Credit Hound covers most of the Sage family with a worklist. If the thing you actually need is for someone to text and call the customers who ignore your emails, that list gets much shorter, and it is the gap we built AccountsReceivable.ai to fill.
This article is for a controller or AR lead on Sage who has Sage AR Automation on the table, either as a quote from a Sage partner or as the add-on a rep keeps bringing up, and wants to know what else connects to their ledger before signing. Every connector claim below was checked against the vendor's own page in September 2026. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the table says so rather than filling the cell with an aggregator's guess.
What is Sage AR Automation?
Sage AR Automation is a cloud accounts receivable application that sits beside your Sage ledger and runs collections work outside it. Sage announced the acquisition of Lockstep in August 2022, on undisclosed terms, and the Sage US Marketplace listing still lives at the old Lockstep Collect address. The listing says it works with Sage 100, Sage 300 and Sage X3, and Sage's own pages add Sage Intacct and say it connects to more than 40 ERPs, including Microsoft Dynamics.
The published feature list is five things: automated customer communications built from a template library and rules, a "next best activity" list for each collector, a password-free customer self-service portal for invoices, statements and payments, cash application that aggregates remittances from several sources and links them to the right invoices, and forecasting that projects cash from four dates (promise to pay, expected payment date, predicted payment date and due date). It supports multiple entities and lets you set how often data syncs from Sage.
What the listing does not say is just as useful. It names no reminder channel beyond communications in general: no SMS, no phone calls. It gives no price, no tier and no edition. And the Sage 50 version is a different, smaller thing: Sage's own community page describes AR Automation for Sage 50 as a customer account portal that cloud-connected Sage 50 users already have access to, where customers view, download and export invoices and payment history. That is useful, but it is not a collections engine.
How much does Sage AR Automation cost?
Sage publishes no price for AR Automation. You get a number from Sage or from your Sage partner after a demo. Third-party profiles describe the model as a platform fee plus a charge per user, with unlimited invoices and no implementation fee, and that structure is consistent with how Lockstep sold before the acquisition. Treat it as a description of the shape of the quote, not a figure you can budget from.
Two things follow from that shape. First, the per-user part means the price climbs with the size of your AR team, which is the opposite of what you want if the goal of automation is to avoid hiring another collector. Second, the vendor claims on the listing are big (DSO down 30% or more, staff productivity up three times, an average 20x return), and they are Sage's claims, not audited results. Ask your partner for a reference customer on your Sage product, at roughly your invoice count, and ask what their DSO actually did.
For context, only a handful of AR vendors publish a rate card at all. We list them, with the full figures, in the accounts receivable automation pricing breakdown.
Sage AR Automation alternatives, by the Sage product you run
This is the table that decides most shortlists, because an AR tool that does not name your Sage product is a custom integration project, whatever the sales deck says.
| Tool | Sage products it names | Text reminders | Outbound calls | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sage AR Automation | Sage 100, Sage 300, Sage X3, Sage Intacct | Not stated | Not stated | None |
| Quadient AR by YayPay | Sage Intacct, Sage 300, Sage X3 | Email-led | No | None; states a revenue threshold instead |
| Kolleno | Sage Intacct, Sage 50, Sage 300, Sage X3 | Yes, allowance per plan | Yes, allowance per plan | GBP rate card; Sage connectors on no named tier |
| Chaser | Sage Intacct, Sage 200, Sage X3 (ledger data pushed in through its API) | Yes | Automated reminder calls | US plans from 259 USD a month |
| Paystand | Sage Intacct, Sage 100, Sage 300, Sage X3 | No dunning sequence | No | None |
| Credit Hound | Sage 50, Sage 100, Sage 300, Sage X3, Sage Intacct | Email with payment links | No | Sage 300 Professional 960 USD a year; others quoted |
| ezyCollect | Sage Intacct, Sage 300 | Yes, plus fax and post | No | None |
| Invoiced by Flywire | Sage Intacct | Yes, in Smart Chasing | No | None |
| Tesorio | Sage Intacct (certified) | No | No | None; peer median about 17,644 USD a year |
| Versapay | Sage Intacct | No | No | None |
| AccountsReceivable.ai | Sage Intacct, Sage 100, Sage 300, Sage X3 | Yes, in sequence | Live AI phone calls | 299 to 1,899 USD a month, flat |
Read the table by your ledger first. On Sage Intacct you have the widest choice, because Intacct is cloud-native with a documented API and nearly every vendor builds for it. On Sage 300 and Sage X3 the field shrinks to a handful, since most installs are on-premises or privately hosted and every vendor that skips them does so for the same reason. On Sage 50 and Sage 100 it is thinner still, and a portal-plus-worklist tool is often all that is on offer.
Which Sage AR Automation alternative is best?
There is no single best one; the right pick depends on whether your problem is the collector's tooling or the fact that nobody is chasing at all. If you have a credit team that works a list every morning, a better worklist and portal is the upgrade, and Sage AR Automation, Credit Hound and Quadient AR are all built around that person. If you do not have that person, or they are drowning, a better list does not help. You need the follow-up itself to happen.
Here is how we would split the field for a US Sage shop:
- Mid-market, collector-led, Sage 300 or X3: Quadient AR by YayPay. It publishes Sage 300 and Sage X3 integration pages, adds predicted pay dates and a portal, and has the longest mid-market track record of the group. Expect a quote-only process and a revenue floor. Our Quadient AR competitors comparison covers its trade-offs in detail.
- Sage Intacct, finance team wants analytics: Tesorio or Versapay, both quote-only, both without outbound calls. The best AR automation software for Sage Intacct roundup compares ten options on that ledger alone.
- Small team, wants a price on the page: Chaser or Credit Hound, both of which publish figures, and both of which still expect a person to run the process.
- Nobody has time to chase: an AR agent that sends the emails, then the texts, then makes the call, and logs every reply against the invoice. That is what we do.
Does Sage AR Automation send SMS or make calls?
Sage does not say so. The marketplace listing describes automated customer communications from a template library, and names no SMS or phone channel. Before you assume otherwise, ask the partner to show a text reminder going out from a live account during the demo. Sage 300 and Sage X3 themselves have no text channel either: Sage 300 prints or emails statements with dunning messages, and Sage X3 reminder campaigns produce letters and emails by reminder level.
This matters because the channel is usually the actual problem. A customer who has ignored three emails will ignore a fourth, however well it is templated. A text to the AP contact the day after the invoice goes late, with the invoice number and a payment link, gets read. A call at 45 days gets an answer, or at least a reason. If your Sage AR Automation evaluation started because emails are not working, you are shopping for channels, and the Sage X3 automated SMS and credit control page and the Sage 300 automated SMS page show how that sequence runs on each ledger.
What to ask before you sign with any of them
Four questions separate a real Sage connector from a slide:
- Which Sage product, which version, which deployment? A connector built for Sage Intacct says nothing about your on-premises Sage 300 2023 install. Get the answer for your exact setup, in writing.
- What syncs, and how often? Open invoices, customers, contacts and credit limits should come across without an export. Payments and applied cash should go back. Ask for the sync interval, not "real time".
- What happens when the customer pays? The next reminder should be cancelled automatically once the receipt posts in Sage. If the tool cannot promise that, you will eventually chase a customer who already paid you.
- What does year one cost, all in? Platform fee, users, connector or partner work, payment processing and any per-message charges for texts. A per-user model and a flat fee look similar at two seats and very different at six.
Sage AR Automation originally came from a company that automated both sides of the ledger, and some buyers evaluating it are really trying to fix payables at the same time. If that is you, keep the two decisions separate: the AP side is about getting supplier invoices captured and approved, which a dedicated tool for accounts payable invoice processing handles better than an AR add-on, and the AR side is about getting paid.
Where AccountsReceivable.ai fits
We built this for Sage teams without a spare collector. The agent reads your open invoices from Sage Intacct, Sage 100, Sage 300 or Sage X3, runs an escalating sequence (email, then SMS, then a firmer text, then a live AI phone call on anything aging past your threshold), reads every reply and turns it into a promise to pay, a resend or a dispute, and applies incoming cash back to the ledger. The sequence stops the moment Sage shows the invoice paid.
The price is on the page: Starter at 299 USD a month covers QuickBooks and Xero, and Sage teams run on Growth at 799 USD or Scale at 1,899 USD, flat, with no per-user charge and no percentage of what you collect. You can drop an aged receivables export from Sage into the tool at the top of this page and see the reminder each overdue customer would get before you connect anything. The wider comparison, including Sage 50 and Sage 100, is on our accounts receivable software for Sage page.
Frequently asked questions
Is Sage AR Automation the same as Lockstep?
Yes. Sage announced it was acquiring Lockstep in August 2022, and Lockstep's collections product became Sage AR Automation. The Sage US Marketplace listing still uses the Lockstep Collect address. Lockstep had raised a 10 million USD Series A in February 2021, before the deal, and the terms of the Sage acquisition were not disclosed.
Does Sage AR Automation work with Sage 50?
Partly. Sage says cloud-connected Sage 50 users already have access to AR Automation, and describes it for Sage 50 as a customer account portal where customers view, download and export invoices and payment history. The full collections feature set is listed for Sage 100, Sage 300, Sage X3 and Sage Intacct.
What are the best alternatives to Sage AR Automation?
On Sage 300 or Sage X3, Quadient AR by YayPay, Kolleno and Paystand publish connectors. On Sage Intacct the field widens to Chaser, Invoiced by Flywire, Tesorio and Versapay. Credit Hound covers most Sage products with a worklist. AccountsReceivable.ai is the option that texts and calls customers for you at a flat published price.
Is Sage AR Automation priced per user?
Sage does not publish its pricing. Third-party profiles describe a platform fee plus a per-user charge, with unlimited invoices and no implementation fee. Confirm the structure with your Sage partner, and model the price at the number of AR seats you expect to have in two years, not the number you have today.
See AccountsReceivable.ai get you paid
The agent chases every invoice across email, SMS and phone, applies the cash and cuts your DSO, on top of QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite. Flat fee, no cut of collections.